A Story Behind a Name

Standard

“Proper names are poetry in the raw.  Like all poetry they are untranslatable. ” ~W.H. Auden

“Tigers die and leave their skins; people die and leave their names.”   ~Japanese Proverb

What’s in a name?  That which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet.”
~William Shakespeare, Romeo and Juliet

 A name is only words, but it always has a story behind it. For me, a name is the best gift that I’ve been received from both of my parents. My name is Rike Giri Cahyadi, and everybody called me Rike. It is the name that given by my parents and  this is one of the most important thing in my life since I was born 19 years ago. I am a the youngest daughter of my parents and have a sister and a brother. And this is the meaning of my name:

  • Rike: This is my first name, containing an R as the first letter of this name. R is the first letter of all my parents’ children. My sisters’ name is Renny and my brothers’ name is Rinto.
  • Giri: It means a mountain in Javanese Language. This part is suggested by my uncle, which have been approved by both of my parents. I am the youngest child in my family, and my parents always hope the best for me. With this middle-name, they hope I can be a success person in the future.
  • Cahyadi: It is a family name which given by my parents for their three children. It is taken from my fathers’ name, and this name become a sign of our family-boundary.
That’s the story behind my name, which was carefully chosen by my parents. People say that “a name is a hope from parents to their child”, and I believe it. I deserve my name as my parent’s hope, and I really thankful to them for this as the best gift in my life.
Leave a Reply

